Best Blu-ray Movie Deals

Best Blu-ray Movie Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
Westworld: Season One 4K (Blu-ray)
$18.99
 
2001: A Space Odyssey 4K (Blu-ray)
$22.05
14 hrs ago
The Death of Superman (Blu-ray)
$17.96
 
Dragon Ball Super: Part 4 (Blu-ray)
$22.81
5 hrs ago
Mission: Impossible 4K (Blu-ray)
$19.99
 
DC Universe: 10th Anniversary Collection (Blu-ray)
$139.99
 
Hell Night (Blu-ray)
$14.99
 
Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom 4K (Blu-ray)
$27.95
5 hrs ago
Mission: Impossible III 4K (Blu-ray)
$19.99
 
Chappaquiddick (Blu-ray)
$19.96
18 hrs ago
The Tree of Life (Blu-ray)
$22.00
 
Bound (Blu-ray)
$29.33
17 hrs ago
What's your next favorite movie?
Join our movie community to find out


Image from: Life of Pi (2012)

Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > 3D > 3D Hardware and Technology > 3D Players


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 02:17 AM   #1
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default No HD audio with Panasonic DMP-BDT210P, need help.

Hi Everyone,
just as the title says, I finally hooked this player up to my Yamaha RX V867 and I just cannot get it to play HD audio, it shows on the display of the player that it is DTS-HD MA on the blu-ray, but on my receiver it is only shows DTS, so I switched back to my old Sony BDP-S350, and now my receiver shows DTS-HD MA, now I am assuming I have something wrong, so I hope someone here will be able to tell me what I need to set or change.

Thanks

*update - I also hooked up my Mitsubishi 3D starter kit, does the kit take away the HD audio? this sure doesn't seem right, I have pretty much determined that the new Panasonic player is indeed bad, I am going to return it, but when I play my Sony direct to receiver I get HD audio, but when I go through the 3D kit, it changes to Dolby Pro Logic, WTF! I just don't know what I am doing wrong.

Last edited by vidjunkie; 06-11-2011 at 03:30 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 04:41 PM   #2
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

is your Panasonic player set to Bitstream and Secondary audio off?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:25 PM   #3
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinhedz View Post
is your Panasonic player set to Bitstream and Secondary audio off?
it is set to bitstream, but when I set secondary to off, then I get no audio, that is why I think I just got a bad unit, well I just exchanged it for a new one and now I will see if this one does the same, if it works, well this just gave me another UPC and serial for another copy of Avatar 3D.

Last edited by vidjunkie; 06-11-2011 at 06:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:02 PM   #4
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Another update, got back from Best buy with the new Panasonic 210, unboxed, hooked it up to the Mits 3d Kit, fired everything up, well now I got the 3D working but now I have NO audio whatsoever, damn I wish I knew someone that knew this stuff, this makes no sense at all, so hopefully you guys will have some suggestion for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 09:36 PM   #5
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

I wish I knew more about the Mits 3D kit...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:14 PM   #6
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

I am thinking that the friggin kit is not letting the HD audio through.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:46 AM   #7
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

do you have the adapter between your receiver and then the TV? ...or before the receiver?? ...switch it to after the receiver only going into the TV.

Looking at the specs it does not mention audio...so Im assuming it will just pass the video, so it should be after the receiver before the TV.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 01:50 PM   #8
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinhedz View Post
do you have the adapter between your receiver and then the TV? ...or before the receiver?? ...switch it to after the receiver only going into the TV.

Looking at the specs it does not mention audio...so Im assuming it will just pass the video, so it should be after the receiver before the TV.
In the manual it shows before the receiver, I will try what you said and go from my player to the receiver, then to the adapter, then the HDTV, these adapters are so finicky, if you don't hook them up just right they won't work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 02:10 PM   #9
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

look on bottom of page 4 user manual, shows adapter after the receiver.


Last edited by crackinhedz; 06-12-2011 at 02:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:23 PM   #10
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinhedz View Post
look on bottom of page 4 user manual, shows adapter after the receiver.

LOL, I see that now, I was following the instructions above it, so since I only have 1 HDMI out on my receiver, will my HD DVR, Xbox 360, PS3, will they all just pass through the adapter with no issues?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:54 PM   #11
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

they should...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:57 PM   #12
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinhedz View Post
they should...
I guess I do have a zone 2(a 2nd HDMI out) on my receiver, not sure how to set that up though, just got this receiver a couple days ago LOL, so maybe if this does not work, I can set zone 2 for everything but 3D setup, leave that on zone 1, man this is confusing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 04:09 PM   #13
crackinhedz crackinhedz is offline
Super Moderator
 
crackinhedz's Avatar
 
Feb 2007
10
8
19
Default

zone 2 does not have anything to do with hdmi connections...its mostly for speakers and listening in a different room (zone)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 04:17 PM   #14
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinhedz View Post
zone 2 does not have anything to do with hdmi connections...its mostly for speakers and listening in a different room (zone)
LOL, now I know, like I said, this is very confusing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:56 PM   #15
john_1958 john_1958 is offline
Power Member
 
Mar 2005
Default

you sure you using the right source for audio? try switching the cables to other plugins
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:31 PM   #16
vidjunkie vidjunkie is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
vidjunkie's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
Earth
2041
68
Default

Thanks to Everyone who helped out, it is working GREAT now, full HD audio with my 3D video, now I just hope the rest of my devices pass through without any problems, going to test that out now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:52 AM   #17
ayaycomly ayaycomly is offline
Banned
 
Dec 2011
Default

do you have the adapter between your receiver and then the TV?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > 3D > 3D Hardware and Technology > 3D Players


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.