COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
Inside Llewyn Davis (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Last Action Hero (Blu-ray)
$5.19
Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Ghostbusters 1 & 2 Double Pack (Blu-ray)
$19.96
Oldboy (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Batman: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$189.99
Water Life: Planet Water (Blu-ray)
$9.95
Nymphomaniac: Volumes I and II (Blu-ray)
$17.99
Life (Blu-ray)
$25.26
Mr. Peabody & Sherman (Blu-ray)
$22.99
World War Z 3D (Blu-ray)
$12.18
The Legend of Billie Jean (Blu-ray)
$5.19
Jaws (Blu-ray)
$7.99
The Swimmer (Blu-ray)
$17.29
The Big Chill (Blu-ray)
$27.59
Sorcerer (Blu-ray)
$19.59
House of Cards: The Complete Second Season (Blu-ray)
$29.99
Justified: The Complete Fourth Season (Blu-ray)
$17.24
The Resident Evil Collection (Blu-ray)
$37.99
Old 05-29-2008, 01:25 AM   #1
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default Matshita BD-CMB UJ-120 Firmware

Hi guys

I been looking for an RPC1 firmware for the Matshita BD-CMB UJ-120 for quite a while now, but still no luck. I buys a lot of DVD and BD from oversea (US, UK), and I live in Australia, I have the paid version of Anydvd but it doesn't work with UJ-120.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 01:31 AM   #2
dadkins dadkins is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
dadkins's Avatar
 
Jan 2007
Hercules, CA
35
2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenyu View Post
Hi guys

I been looking for an RPC1 firmware for the Matshita BD-CMB UJ-120 for quite a while now, but still no luck. I buys a lot of DVD and BD from oversea (US, UK), and I live in Australia, I have the paid version of Anydvd but it doesn't work with UJ-120.
Who made the laptop?
Check their site for firmware.
VGN-AR190G - UJ-210S BD Burner
VGN-AR730E/B - UJ-120 BD Combo

like.no.other
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 02:05 AM   #3
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

Asus made the laptop, and I have search their website, no luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 04:06 AM   #4
dadkins dadkins is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
dadkins's Avatar
 
Jan 2007
Hercules, CA
35
2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenyu View Post
Asus made the laptop, and I have search their website, no luck
Does it have a model number?
VGN-AR190G - UJ-210S BD Burner
VGN-AR730E/B - UJ-120 BD Combo

like.no.other
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 07:16 AM   #5
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

I am not at home at the moment, I will post the model number when I get back.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:20 AM   #6
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

Drive Information
------------------
Drive : MATSHITA BD-CMB UJ-120
Type : Blu-ray COMBO
Firmware Version : 1.00
Buffer Size : 8 MB
Date : ?
Serial Number : HE33 004932
Vendor Specific : 07121300
Drive Letter : E:\
Location : 1:0
Mechanism : Tray
Read Speed : n/a
Write Speed : n/a

Read CD Text : Yes
Return C2 Pointers : Yes
Read CD-R : Yes
Read CD-RW : Yes
Read DVD-ROM : Yes
Read DVD-RAM : Yes
Read DVD-R : Yes
Read DVD-RW : Yes
Read DVD-R DL : Yes
Read DVD+R : Yes
Read DVD+RW : Yes
Read DVD+R DL : Yes
Read BD-ROM : Yes
Read BD-R : Yes
Read BD-RE : Yes
Read HD DVD-ROM : No
Read HD DVD-R : No
Read HD DVD-RW : No
Read HD-BURN : No
Read Digital Audio : Yes
Read CD+G : No
Read VideoCD : Yes

Write CD-R : Yes
Write CD-RW : Yes
Write DVD-R : Yes
Write DVD-RW : Yes
Write DVD-R DL : Yes
Write DVD+R : Yes
Write DVD+RW : Yes
Write DVD+R DL : Yes
Write DVD-RAM : Yes
Write BD-R : No
Write BD-RE : No
Write HD DVD-R : No
Write HD DVD-RW : No
Write HD-BURN-R : No
Write HD-BURN-RW : No
Buffer Underrun Protection : Yes
Mount Rainier : No
SolidBurn : No
Labelflash : No
LightScribe : No
Modes : Packet, TAO, DAO, SAO, RAW SAO

Region Protection Control : RPC II
Region : 4
Changes User : 3
Changes Vendor : 4

CSS : Yes
CPRM : Yes
AACS : Yes
VCPS : No
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 06:17 PM   #7
dadkins dadkins is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
dadkins's Avatar
 
Jan 2007
Hercules, CA
35
2
Default

Does the ASUS laptop have a model number?
Trying to use a non-approved firmware may hose your drive.

I seriously advise against using anything other than what ASUS has for your machine.
VGN-AR190G - UJ-210S BD Burner
VGN-AR730E/B - UJ-120 BD Combo

like.no.other
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 09:23 PM   #8
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

The model for this laptop is M51SN37G
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:24 PM   #9
dadkins dadkins is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
dadkins's Avatar
 
Jan 2007
Hercules, CA
35
2
Default

Just the region coding is the problem for the imported discs?
I don't think the drives firmware is what's stopping AnyDVD from working(I could be wrong though).
I have the same drive in this new VAIO and AnyDVD is working fine.

With that said, there is no newer firmware available for your machine at ASUSTek... but you knew that already.

Sorry.
Maybe update AnyDVD to the latest 6.4.3.2 and see if it works.
VGN-AR190G - UJ-210S BD Burner
VGN-AR730E/B - UJ-120 BD Combo

like.no.other
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:37 PM   #10
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

Hi Dadkins

Trust me, I have tried everything, I am already running the latest Andvd that's been released Tuesday this week.

By the way, the UJ-120 in the SONY VAIO laptop is different to the one I have your is either UJ-120S or UJ-120B, and it works with Anydvd.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 02:44 AM   #11
JadedRaverLA JadedRaverLA is offline
Power Member
 
Apr 2007
2
Default

There really is no such thing as RPC-1 firmware for BD-ROM drives (well, there is, but it is just for DVD playback). BD-ROM drives don't handle the region-coding for Blu-ray titles... the player software does. In fact, if you get two different software players, you can easily set one for BD Region A and the other for BD Region B and be good to go.

As for firmware updating your drive, the Matsushita/Panasonic laptop drives are all locked to only accept firmware from the PC manufacturer... as opposed to a nice generic firmware from Matsushita/Panasonic. It's a real pain... and one reason I don't think anyone has done much work on altering the firmware.
HT setup: Sony 55" SXRD 1080p display, 60 GB PS3, Sony ES 7.1 Receiver, JBL Surround System

Notebook setup: Apple 15" MacBook Pro (late 2008 unibody), Intel T9400, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD; FastMac APP-6907 portable BD-ROM drive, Dell 2408WFP S-PVA 24" display, Windows Vista Business x64 (via BootCamp), PowerDVD 9 Ultra.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:14 AM   #12
dadkins dadkins is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
dadkins's Avatar
 
Jan 2007
Hercules, CA
35
2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenyu View Post
Hi Dadkins

Trust me, I have tried everything, I am already running the latest Andvd that's been released Tuesday this week.

By the way, the UJ-120 in the SONY VAIO laptop is different to the one I have your is either UJ-120S or UJ-120B, and it works with Anydvd.
MATSHITA BD-CMB UJ-120 ATA Device

No, just a UJ-120 - no S, no B...
VGN-AR190G - UJ-210S BD Burner
VGN-AR730E/B - UJ-120 BD Combo

like.no.other
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:29 AM   #13
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadedRaverLA View Post
There really is no such thing as RPC-1 firmware for BD-ROM drives (well, there is, but it is just for DVD playback). BD-ROM drives don't handle the region-coding for Blu-ray titles... the player software does. In fact, if you get two different software players, you can easily set one for BD Region A and the other for BD Region B and be good to go.

As for firmware updating your drive, the Matsushita/Panasonic laptop drives are all locked to only accept firmware from the PC manufacturer... as opposed to a nice generic firmware from Matsushita/Panasonic. It's a real pain... and one reason I don't think anyone has done much work on altering the firmware.
I haven't had a chance to test different region BD disc, as I only have one BD disc at the moment, all I want to do is watch oversea DVD in my room when other family member are watching on the media centre :-(
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 07:41 PM   #14
JadedRaverLA JadedRaverLA is offline
Power Member
 
Apr 2007
2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenyu View Post
I haven't had a chance to test different region BD disc, as I only have one BD disc at the moment, all I want to do is watch oversea DVD in my room when other family member are watching on the media centre :-(
Ah, gotcha. In that case... may need to get a cheap external DVD drive that you can get the modded firmware for. Not ideal, but you also won't risk ruining your (more expensive) BD drive.
HT setup: Sony 55" SXRD 1080p display, 60 GB PS3, Sony ES 7.1 Receiver, JBL Surround System

Notebook setup: Apple 15" MacBook Pro (late 2008 unibody), Intel T9400, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD; FastMac APP-6907 portable BD-ROM drive, Dell 2408WFP S-PVA 24" display, Windows Vista Business x64 (via BootCamp), PowerDVD 9 Ultra.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 01:18 PM   #15
w_tanoto w_tanoto is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
w_tanoto's Avatar
 
Jul 2007
Hatfield, UK / Jakarta, Indonesia
37
47
Default

To the OP:

I am sorry, but you have to forget the whole thing.
It's nothing wrong with AnyDVD you have, but the drive.
ALL matsushita/panasonic drive can't be made region free by using anydvd.
That includes mine (UJ-210 BD-RE Writer)
Lots of people always tried to avoid Matshita.

http://forum.slysoft.com/archive/index.php?t-4707.html
Trust me, anydvd worked with other drives.

Alternatively, you can buy Optiarc BD-ROM drive (available for both laptop and desktop for internal use) to replace yours. but check before you buy on the spec. normally changing the drive on laptop just involve one screw. so, it's quite easy.
Walt Disney's Fan
Laptop/Main Blu-ray Disc Player:
Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz| 12GB RAM | 4TB HDD | nVidia GeForce 465GTX | 1920x1080 (32 inch and 27 inch 3D) | 5.1 Logitech Z5500 and 2.0 Logitech R5 Speakers
LG Blu-ray/HD DVD Drive | LG Blu-ray Writer BH10 | Samsung Blu-ray Drive
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 01:03 PM   #16
stevenyu stevenyu is offline
Junior Member
 
May 2008
Default

it is kind hard to find a atapi laptop bd drive, can any of you guy recommend one?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:01 PM   #17
w_tanoto w_tanoto is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
w_tanoto's Avatar
 
Jul 2007
Hatfield, UK / Jakarta, Indonesia
37
47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenyu View Post
it is kind hard to find a atapi laptop bd drive, can any of you guy recommend one?
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=509T

it's in UK.
you got to use the model number to find that product in your country
Walt Disney's Fan
Laptop/Main Blu-ray Disc Player:
Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz| 12GB RAM | 4TB HDD | nVidia GeForce 465GTX | 1920x1080 (32 inch and 27 inch 3D) | 5.1 Logitech Z5500 and 2.0 Logitech R5 Speakers
LG Blu-ray/HD DVD Drive | LG Blu-ray Writer BH10 | Samsung Blu-ray Drive
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:27 AM   #18
jimsiam jimsiam is offline
New Member
 
Jun 2008
Default Same drive different problem

Hi,

i have the same drive but the problem is that it doesn't burn most of the dvds that i've bought so far. It's only written on a DVD+R 1-16x (TDK) and on a DVD+RW 1-4x (SONY) but it hasn't accepted a verbatim DVD-RW 4x and a TDK DVD+RW 8x speed...
Don't know whats wrong
would appreciate it if you could help!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:46 AM   #19
mizes2000 mizes2000 is offline
New Member
 
Aug 2008
Default Matshita Bd-cmb Uj-120

Hi guys!

I have a real simple problem. My new lap top has the MATSHITA BD-CMB UJ-120 installed. What I know about this all could be written on a pin head with room to spare. I HAVE NO USER MANUAL ACER DIDN'T PROVIDE ONE.
Can one burn blue-ray or is it just a player?

Can anyone fill me in?

mizes2000@t-online.de
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 12:50 PM   #20
McBain McBain is offline
Senior Member
 
Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizes2000 View Post
Hi guys!

I have a real simple problem. My new lap top has the MATSHITA BD-CMB UJ-120 installed. What I know about this all could be written on a pin head with room to spare. I HAVE NO USER MANUAL ACER DIDN'T PROVIDE ONE.
Can one burn blue-ray or is it just a player?

Can anyone fill me in?

mizes2000@t-online.de
It is a BD Combo drive so it reads (does not write) Blu-ray as well as reads and writes DVD/CD.

* 2X BD-ROM reading
* 5X DVD-RAM Writing
* 8X DVD-R Writing
* 2X DVD-R DL Writing
* 4X DVD-RW Writing
* 8X DVD+R Writing
* 2.4X DVD+R DL Writing
* 4X DVD+RW Writing
* 8X CD-R Writing
* 8X CD-RW Writing
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > Blu-ray > Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software

Similar Threads
thread Forum Thread Starter Replies Last Post
Problem: Matshita uj-120 does not read Blu-ray Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software Gigione 5 08-25-2010 12:48 AM
Matsushita BD-CMB UJ-120 problem burning DVD+R DL Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software atomik kinder 4 11-25-2009 08:35 AM
Matshita BD-CMB UJ120 Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software joet 4 06-10-2009 06:37 PM
Problem: Matshita uj-120 does not read Blu-ray Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software Gigione 5 05-30-2009 11:42 PM
Blu Ray Playback help/problem. on Slim External Matshita UJ-120 through USB. Blu-ray PCs, Laptops, Drives, Media and Software Riddhy 2 03-16-2009 06:40 AM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 AM.