Best Blu-ray Movie Deals


Best Blu-ray Movie Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | New deals  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Australia Netherlands Japan Mexico
Space Jam 4K (Blu-ray)
$25.99
4 hrs ago
Center Stage (Blu-ray)
$29.99
5 hrs ago
Drive (Blu-ray)
$27.99
21 hrs ago
The Rocketeer (Blu-ray)
$8.99
1 day ago
Solid Metal Nightmares: The Films of Shinya Tsukamoto (Blu-ray)
$72.99
 
Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory 4K (Blu-ray)
$29.99
 
Godzilla vs. Kong 4K (Blu-ray)
$42.99
 
Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Complete 4K (Blu-ray)
$24.49
 
Dragonheart: 5-Movie Collection (Blu-ray)
$19.99
 
Nobody 4K (Blu-ray)
$30.99
 
The Hobbit: The Motion Picture Trilogy 4K (Blu-ray)
$73.43
1 day ago
Wonder Woman 1984 4K / Wonder Woman 4K (Blu-ray)
$30.49
8 hrs ago
What's your next favorite movie?
Join our movie community to find out


Image from: Life of Pi (2012)
Old 05-27-2009, 01:13 AM   #21
Happycamper Happycamper is offline
Member
 
Apr 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew664 View Post
I would like to know if the XMC-1 will have a phono input (so I wouldn't have to purchase a phono stage). I can't find the spec list for it.
Yes it will, also here is a link to see all the listed features of the XMC-1.

http://emotivalounge.proboards.com/i...ay&thread=4121
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:24 AM   #22
Happycamper Happycamper is offline
Member
 
Apr 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
I'm curious ? Does anyone use something other than A regular RCA cable from the receiver (Pre-pro) to there amp !
I use a digital coaxial RCA cable from MONOPRICE but funny thing is the specs are almost the same for the stereo RCA cables. The digital coaxial cables tend to have a lower AWG wire (RG6U) vs the regular RCAs higher 22 AWG wire (RG59U). Cost a little more but not really sure if there is a difference in sound from regular RCAs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:29 AM   #23
solarrdadd solarrdadd is offline
Blu-ray Prince
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Jul 2008
Virginia
255
183
1310
4
42
316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
I'm curious ? Does anyone use something other than A regular RCA cable from the receiver (Pre-pro) to there amp !
Do you mean an XLR type connector?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:34 AM   #24
Drew664 Drew664 is offline
Blu-ray Guru
 
Drew664's Avatar
 
Oct 2007
South Dakota
28
68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happycamper View Post
Yes it will, also here is a link to see all the listed features of the XMC-1.

http://emotivalounge.proboards.com/i...ay&thread=4121
Thanks for the link.

I guess no one really knows what quality the phono input would be in terms of a comparable dollar amount?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:38 AM   #25
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
Do you mean an XLR type connector?
The back of both my emo's just have an rca cable hookup & not A hook up for an XLR
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:59 AM   #26
solarrdadd solarrdadd is offline
Blu-ray Prince
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Jul 2008
Virginia
255
183
1310
4
42
316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
The back of both my emo's just have an rca cable hookup & not A hook up for an XLR
My XPA-5 offers both RCA & XLR but, I'm only going to use RCA. I've got really nice set of interconnects from Blue Jeans Cable and they work great. Also, the UMC-1 A/V pre-pro that I want to buy from them next month when it comes out will only have RCA outputs and not XLR's. Also, I'm gonna buy a 2 channel amp for my two surround back channels and it won't have XLR's on it either so it's RCA's for me. However their upcoming A/V pre-pro the XMC-1 will have XLR outputs. I'm just not that interested in them and I have very short runs of RCA interconnects so, I don't have any ground loop problems and that is really what XLR's are for and best at resolving if you are having that issue or have really long runs of interconnects it's recommended.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 02:13 AM   #27
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
My XPA-5 offers both RCA & XLR but, I'm only going to use RCA. I've got really nice set of interconnects from Blue Jeans Cable and they work great. Also, the UMC-1 A/V pre-pro that I want to buy from them next month when it comes out will only have RCA outputs and not XLR's. Also, I'm gonna buy a 2 channel amp for my two surround back channels and it won't have XLR's on it either so it's RCA's for me. However their upcoming A/V pre-pro the XMC-1 will have XLR outputs. I'm just not that interested in them and I have very short runs of RCA interconnects so, I don't have any ground loop problems and that is really what XLR's are for and best at resolving if you are having that issue or have really long runs of interconnects it's recommended.
I have no ground loop problems & my RCA runs are short as well . I was just curious if there was another type RCA cable that could / would be better than just the standard RCA ! If you're good to go with what you are using then I see no reason to change mine !!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 07:55 AM   #28
rpatt rpatt is offline
Blu-ray Guru
 
rpatt's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
69
3
Default

What type of cable is required for the trigger?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:20 AM   #29
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

What should I buy next ? the XPA-3 ~ or the XPA-5 for my front 3 towers !
Opinions please because I may just do this in the next few weeks !!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:24 AM   #30
Big Daddy Big Daddy is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Jan 2008
Southern California
79
122
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
What should I buy next ? the XPA-3 ~ or the XPA-5 for my front 3 towers !
Opinions please because I may just do this in the next few weeks !!
NAD amplifiers are also on sale. NAD is a very reputable high-end company and has been in business for a long time.
https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=100848
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:36 AM   #31
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
NAD amplifiers are also on sale. NAD is a very reputable high-end company and has been in business for a long time.
https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=100848
As you're opinion is always highly respected to me !

The diff. amp manufacturers & price being close to each other Would there be much difference between the two ! If not I would probably go with the emo for the matching of the amps ( looks) !

  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:42 AM   #32
Big Daddy Big Daddy is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Jan 2008
Southern California
79
122
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
As you're opinion is always highly respected to me !

The diff. amp manufacturers & price being close to each other Would there be much difference between the two ! If not I would probably go with the emo for the matching of the amps ( looks) !

Unfortunately or fortunately, I am not like the other members who express definitive opinions about products that they have never used. Since I do not own either Emotiva or Nad amplifiers, I cannot comment on the difference between the two units. The only thing I can say is that Nad is a very good company and they make great products. I own a Nad CD player that I bought many years ago. It still works and sounds very good.

Last edited by Big Daddy; 05-29-2009 at 07:03 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:53 AM   #33
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
Unfortunately or fortunately, I am not like the other members who express definitive opinions about products that they have never used. Since I do not own either Emotiva or Nad amplifiers, I cannot comment on the difference between the two units. The only thing I can say is that Nad is a very good company and they may great products. I own a Nad CD player that I bought many years ago. It still works and sounds very good.
I under stand what you are saying , so lets try this route !
the nad amps are about half the watts the emo amps are . would this change what I am after with powering the fronts with with more power & being able to have clean power to the 4 surrounds with the amps I have ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:02 AM   #34
Big Daddy Big Daddy is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Jan 2008
Southern California
79
122
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
I under stand what you are saying , so lets try this route !
the nad amps are about half the watts the emo amps are . would this change what I am after with powering the fronts with with more power & being able to have clean power to the 4 surrounds with the amps I have ?
The $500 Nad has 6 channels. I don't believe you need 6 channels. I am sure you can bridge them into 3 channels. That way, the power will be doubled. Also remember that the quality of an amp is more important than the quantity. Some low powered amps (e.g., tube amps) outplay solid state amps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:09 AM   #35
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
The $500 Nad has 6 channels. I don't believe you need 6 channels. I am sure you can bridge them into 3 channels. That way, the power will be doubled. Also remember that the quality of an amp is more important than the quantity. Some low powered amps (e.g., tube amps) outplay solid state amps.
OK this is new to me !

I am sure you can bridge them into 3 channels .

I have my UPA-7 on the front L/R using 2 channels only , am I getting the 170 watts or is it just the 125 watts per channel ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:27 AM   #36
Big Daddy Big Daddy is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Jan 2008
Southern California
79
122
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
OK this is new to me !

I am sure you can bridge them into 3 channels .

I have my UPA-7 on the front L/R using 2 channels only , am I getting the 170 watts or is it just the 125 watts per channel ?
If you don't bridge them, you are getting the same watts. Read the instructions for bridging. For example, on one of my 2 channel Carver amps, there is a button that sets it to mono and then you have to do different speaker connections. That increase the power over 1,000 watts. It is possible that you cannot bridge some amplifiers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:53 AM   #37
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
If you don't bridge them, you are getting the same watts. Read the instructions for bridging. For example, on one of my 2 channel Carver amps, there is a button that sets it to mono and then you have to do different speaker connections. That increase the power over 1,000 watts. It is possible that you cannot bridge some amplifiers.
I HATE to say this but there is not one word about Bridging . Is there another term for this ? Is there A thread that explains Bridging & how to do it .
I must be able to do it because they tell you the watts increase when you use less channels .
Or should I email Emotiva on this !!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:03 AM   #38
Big Daddy Big Daddy is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Jan 2008
Southern California
79
122
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyBLUE View Post
I HATE to say this but there is not one word about Bridging . Is there another term for this ? Is there A thread that explains Bridging & how to do it .
I must be able to do it because they tell you the watts increase when you use less channels .
Or should I email Emotiva on this !!
It is possible that Emotiva bridges the channels automatically. To make sure, send them an email. These are basic explanation of bridging.

http://www.wikihow.com/Bridge-an-Amplifier
http://www.ehow.com/how_2241397_bridge-amplifier.html
http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/...402340,00.html
http://sound.westhost.com/project20.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:13 AM   #39
solarrdadd solarrdadd is offline
Blu-ray Prince
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Jul 2008
Virginia
255
183
1310
4
42
316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
It is possible that Emotiva bridges the channels automatically. To make sure, send them an email. These are basic explanation of bridging.

http://www.wikihow.com/Bridge-an-Amplifier
http://www.ehow.com/how_2241397_bridge-amplifier.html
http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/...402340,00.html
http://sound.westhost.com/project20.htm
I might be wrong, but I think you are right BD. Crazy, if you look at their site they list the amp at all channels driven so for the XPA-5 it's 200 (the truth is it's 250 but we'll get into that later!) with 4 channels driven it's 230, with 3 it's 250, with 2 it's 275 and with 1 it's 300 all of them at 8 ohms and it's higher respectively with 4 ohm loads. I'm gathering the unit will sense no signal on the other channels and automatically adjust the power availabilty to the channels it does. like automatic all wheel drive, giving power to the wheels that need it! what do you think BD & Crazy!?!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:14 AM   #40
crazyBLUE crazyBLUE is offline
Moderator
 
crazyBLUE's Avatar
 
Aug 2008
Pacific Northwest
89
479
1
38
30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy View Post
It is possible that Emotiva bridges the channels automatically. To make sure, send them an email. These are basic explanation of bridging.

http://www.wikihow.com/Bridge-an-Amplifier
http://www.ehow.com/how_2241397_bridge-amplifier.html
http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/...402340,00.html
http://sound.westhost.com/project20.htm
As always ~ THANK YOU Big Daddy for the info , I will email emo on that & I will also go thew the links you gave me !!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > Audio > Pre/Pro, Amplifiers and Separate Systems

Similar Threads
thread Forum Thread Starter Replies Last Post
The Official B&W Speakers Thread Speakers allstar780 2042 06-16-2020 05:54 PM
The Official Emotiva Audio Speakers Thread Speakers tootall82103 5 05-06-2013 04:28 PM
OFFICIAL: MADONNA: Sticky & Sweet BD Thread Blu-ray Movies - North America CCTM2000 37 06-21-2010 06:09 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:42 PM.