Best Anime Deals

Amazon Prime Day is Now Live »
Prime: Fast & Furious 8-Movie Collect… $44.99 (85% claimed)
Prime: Fraggle Rock: The Complete Ser… $27.99 (74% claimed)
Prime: Mortal Engines 4K $12.99 (62% claimed)
Prime: Sailor Moon Super S The Movie $15.99 (33% claimed)
Prime: The House with a Clock in Its … $9.99 (4 hours left)
Prime: Labyrinth 4K (30th Anniversary… $17.06 (25% claimed)
Prime: Apollo 11 $12.99 (24% claimed)
Prime: Steins;Gate: Anime Classics Co… $28.42 (1 hour left)
Prime: Sicario: Day of the Soldado 4K $14.99 (4 hours left)
Prime: Full Metal Panic!: Anime Class… $19.99 (5 hours left)

Top deals | New deals  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Australia Japan
FLCL: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$19.99
6 hrs ago
Wolf Children (Blu-ray)
$14.63
2 hrs ago
Hellsing Ultimate: The Complete Collection (Blu-ray)
$39.99
 
The Big O: Complete Collection (Blu-ray)
$52.99
 
Mazinger Z: Infinity (Blu-ray)
$16.55
6 hrs ago
Elfen Lied: Complete Collection Plus OVA (Blu-ray)
$66.29
 
Star Blazers 2202: Space Battleship Yamato  Part One (Blu-ray)
$50.99
 
Steins;Gate 0 - Part Two (Blu-ray)
$34.99
 
Outlaw Star: Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$26.88
 
DARLING in the FRANXX: Part One (Blu-ray)
$50.99
 
Steins;Gate 0 - Part One (Blu-ray)
$34.99
 
Phoenix: Perfect Collection (Blu-ray)
$44.03
 
What's your next favorite movie?
Join our movie community to find out


Image from: Life of Pi (2012)

Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > Movies > Anime


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2019, 10:16 PM   #21
Kyle15 Kyle15 is online now
Power Member
 
Kyle15's Avatar
 
Jan 2011
Alabama
11
144
1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouki View Post
Mine came shrinkwrapped, but I never bothered to open it. Now you have me worried... Almost like they had to scramble to put together more sets after the fact. Did you preorder?

So I just checked my email, and the last "Oh, it looks like you tried to cancel one order, but it made it's way back to the warehouse and was picked, too late to do anything 'bout it" email came at 8:25, with shipping confirmation at 8:30am. I know the times are screwy with MST->PST, but well played Rightstuf...
I had pre-ordered yes.

This is the weird thing though; they would have been sealed at the pressing plant and then shipped to them for packaging with the special edition goodies. For some reason mine ended-up opened and I don't know why.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 12:23 AM   #22
Gouki Gouki is offline
Special Member
 
Gouki's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothing371 View Post
One thing that we need to remember is that other online webstores simply cannot provide the same conveniences that we get when using Amazon, and the ease of cancelling and modifying orders. Rightstuf has an Operations Management System in place that works for them and that's how they're able to keep their doors open.

Customers are so used to the level of service by Amazon now that we feel like every other web store has to live up to that level of ordering convenience. But it's an assembly line / conveyor belt situation. It can't always be interrupted with ease. I'm sure they would have helped you if they could have. RS has also been sending a message lately that customers have been bothering them with 1)too many returns 2)too picky on condition and 3)modification of orders after the fact. So it's important to take note of these things. Either their CS hasn't been able to keep up with the workload or else they're not interested in accommodating people any longer because it's costing them too much money and time. I get that.

There are lots of places we shop online where you can't cancel or modify your order a few minutes or couple hours later. Sometimes the products have been picked or they have been weighed and a shipping label has been created. We have to be more responsible when we submit our orders too.

In any case it's good for everyone here to take notice and become aware of RS new ordering and shipping practices, so this thread is helpful for everyone.

I hope that you're able to get everything sorted out. Good luck.
Well, just to comment on the above bolded, I'm sure they went out of their way not to help me out, just for the fact that they did go out of their way to both combine both shipments, (If you've ever made two orders and requested they be combined, you would be met with the same response from them as if you asked if you could kidnap someone's child. They will do everything possible not to, including the "It's too far along the process to change anything".) say they couldn't do anything about it, then create a shipping label. Now, I get that people consider an item shipped once a shipping label is created, but nothing really happens until it is either picked up or delivered to the shipping company. So the label was created at 08:18am, a few minutes after the last support email, then picked up at 2:31pm, so it just sat there for six hours and still, nothing could be done. And this is after two separate CS representatives told me I'm receiving a duplicate order, ending with "I do apologize for this inconvenience. 

If you have any further questions or concerns, please let me know."

Yeah, my main inconvenience is having $457.33 missing from my bank account.

(And I would have been way, way more upset if I didn't just get paid.)

And in terms of costing too much money and time, instead of fixing this and taking care of a (kinda) long time customer, they're going to eat the cost of shipping all of this extra stuff back, then the time it takes a human/machine/ED 209/whatever to go and put it all back. (But even then it will be offset, since they charged me twice for expedited shipping when sending all of it in one package, which is always cheaper than two separate ones)

(No anger or unpleasantness aimed toward you, Nothing371, I just don't think we can just give a pass to the same company plastering ads before every anime I see in theater like they're some small mom and pop company operating out of a garage. That, and we were spoiled with exemplary service before, which has degraded to "Fight us for the right of a return authorization code, peasant.")

Oh, yeah, and just a side note, usually when I do an order with Rightstuf, nothing happens for a business day, then it gets shipped the following business day in the afternoon, and in this case, I ordered after business hours on Friday, and it ships Monday morning...

Sigh, it will all be over soon.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Nothing371 (04-16-2019), zenpai (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 12:38 AM   #23
cfx cfx is offline
Senior Member
 
cfx's Avatar
 
Mar 2019
my own personal hell
13
Default

My experiences with their customer service have been ok, but a bit puzzling in that it seems like how something is handled must be up to the person you're dealing with. I had cases of scratched discs, and each one was handled differently.

A while after my cases were finished, I got one of those "Your Right Stuf Case #xyz Has Been Sumitted" emails, when I hadn't submitted anything at all, and the number didn't match any of my previous cases. I assume it was intended for someone else but somehow got sent to my email address.

And yeah, while their size is nothing compared to Amazon, surely they must be the largest anime retailer in the US?
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 02:28 AM   #24
Naiera Naiera is offline
Blu-ray Count
 
Naiera's Avatar
 
Jun 2012
Denmark
9
20
Default

I'm sick of stores where cancelling orders is impossible or practically impossible. As if you can't just NOT ship something! These policies exist because they hope you just give up and keep both copies.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Bobo1313 (04-16-2019), chronoclast (04-16-2019), El3mental (04-28-2019), Gouki (04-16-2019), InuYashaCrusade (04-16-2019), Kyle15 (04-16-2019), Nostalgic Twilight (04-16-2019), TootallMcgraw (04-29-2019), zenpai (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 02:41 AM   #25
neoz neoz is offline
Moderator
 
neoz's Avatar
 
Dec 2009
10
1584
7
81
Default

I remember back in the day when RS was cool. After the website update to make it mobile friendly it all went down hill.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
chronoclast (04-16-2019), El3mental (04-28-2019), Gouki (04-16-2019), gpn (04-16-2019), Nostalgic Twilight (04-16-2019), Nothing371 (04-16-2019), TootallMcgraw (04-29-2019), zenpai (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 02:58 AM   #26
vivablu vivablu is offline
Blu-ray Guru
 
vivablu's Avatar
 
Dec 2011
232
2140
38
160
2553
149
330
Default

Does Shawn still venture around on the anime forums? I remember back in the good old days, if any of us had any issues with our orders at RS, we could just send him a PM with the order's info/details, and he would have his employees sort out our problems right away. They used to be that good.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 03:07 AM   #27
neoz neoz is offline
Moderator
 
neoz's Avatar
 
Dec 2009
10
1584
7
81
Default

Probably not in all honesty. We don't get a lot of traffic here all things considered. I kind of like that our group isn't to huge personally. We all seem to know each other as far as being online and not actually knowing each other irl. And get along decently enough.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 06:55 AM   #28
SuperFlyHighGuy SuperFlyHighGuy is offline
Power Member
 
SuperFlyHighGuy's Avatar
 
Oct 2010
north star
378
42
Default

Wow, I've never ordered from them but was about to try it cause I want to order KOR. With all this feedback though, I'm just going to wait until Bullmoose gets it back in stock.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 11:37 AM   #29
Naiera Naiera is offline
Blu-ray Count
 
Naiera's Avatar
 
Jun 2012
Denmark
9
20
Default

You can find stories like this about most if not all large online retailers. Most people don't run into problems like these.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019), zenpai (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 02:59 PM   #30
One-Eye One-Eye is offline
Active Member
 
One-Eye's Avatar
 
Oct 2014
6
380
212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenpai View Post
Honestly, I never had any issues with RS when they were the old RightStuf, but after they changed over to RightStuf Anime it’s like something went off in their business model...

I basically only order over the holidays in November/December now, and no longer buy the GA membership so I have as little reason to support them as possible.
This. The changes in policy and reps became more apparent with the changeover to the new website. It almost feels like they went from friendly mom & pop to a more big corporate stance. I've also done the same thing, given up GA and order maybe once a year from them usually during the holidays. It helps that I'm way busy now and my anime+manga consumption is down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothing371 View Post
There are lots of places we shop online where you can't cancel or modify your order a few minutes or couple hours later. Sometimes the products have been picked or they have been weighed and a shipping label has been created. We have to be more responsible when we submit our orders too.
I agree with much of what you said. I'm also sympathetic with companies trying to reduce waste, fraud and other costs. Having worked retail when I was young I saw all of that. But in general we know what we get with most companies. Amazon makes things easy to order, but you are likely to get it in a bubble mailer so that it can get stomped on (and in my case items may go to fictional front desks or mail rooms and labeled as delivered), TOM as some have experienced may take weeks or months to deliver an item, etc, etc. The thing that makes the issue with RS stand out is that the quality of service seems to have changed. To be fair it can be tough to balance good customer service and protecting your business.

One thing that RS was decent at was taking feedback or suggestions. In the past I made a few and seen at least one direct change and in other cases have gotten at least a response that they were working on improving certain things. They are not the size or dominance of an Amazon that can ignore unhappy customers, so chasing away even a few customers can result in the loss of thousands of dollars. Imho, if people are unhappy with a policy or experience at RS they should let them know (in a polite way of course). If enough people do it then its more likely that at the very least there will be a review on their end of their policies and practices. Much more likely than a behemoth like Amazon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFlyHighGuy View Post
Wow, I've never ordered from them but was about to try it cause I want to order KOR. With all this feedback though, I'm just going to wait until Bullmoose gets it back in stock.
You shouldn't take these criticisms as a sign that they are awful or something like that. In my experience they are still better than most, in particular items tend to be better protected in shipping and pricing for certain things like manga tend to be pretty good.

Last edited by One-Eye; 04-16-2019 at 03:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Gouki (04-16-2019), zenpai (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 05:16 PM   #31
Gouki Gouki is offline
Special Member
 
Gouki's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFlyHighGuy View Post
Wow, I've never ordered from them but was about to try it cause I want to order KOR. With all this feedback though, I'm just going to wait until Bullmoose gets it back in stock.
You are absolutely fine, unless you need to modify or (may the Lord of Light help you) return/exchange something.

My only regular ordering issue with them is that I need to either bundle 3-4 titles together, or pad it out with 2-3 manga to get them to ship in a coffin box.

In your case, I would make sure to either order 2-3 additional titles, or add 2-3 manga. KOR is one of those titles I want in mint condition, so this ain't going to do it:



  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 07:05 PM   #32
cfx cfx is offline
Senior Member
 
cfx's Avatar
 
Mar 2019
my own personal hell
13
Default

Hey those beat Amazon's envelopes at least.

I agree they scare me, but so far luckily I haven't gotten anything damaged shipped in those. I've made larger orders too but during sales have had a few items that were sold out by the time I ordered so they got shipped later.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
neoz (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 08:11 PM   #33
InuYashaCrusade InuYashaCrusade is offline
Blu-ray Champion
 
InuYashaCrusade's Avatar
 
Jun 2013
16
114
40
15
Default

One of the last times I ordered from RightStuf the item was shipped in a bubble mailer. I'd never seen that before, it really surprised me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:58 PM   #34
cfx cfx is offline
Senior Member
 
cfx's Avatar
 
Mar 2019
my own personal hell
13
Default

Ugh I didn't want to read that. Hopefully it's not a new thing but some other reason like they were running low on the cardboard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:37 PM   #35
One-Eye One-Eye is offline
Active Member
 
One-Eye's Avatar
 
Oct 2014
6
380
212
Default


I had that happen to me once too, a long time ago. It was so weird after always getting cardboard. It was the only time that it ever happened, so maybe it is a situation where they ran out of the ravioli cardboard?
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
Nostalgic Twilight (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 11:54 PM   #36
neoz neoz is offline
Moderator
 
neoz's Avatar
 
Dec 2009
10
1584
7
81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfx View Post
Hey those beat Amazon's envelopes at least.

I agree they scare me, but so far luckily I haven't gotten anything damaged shipped in those. I've made larger orders too but during sales have had a few items that were sold out by the time I ordered so they got shipped later.
This is true. Those actually provide better protection then the bubble mailers and those stupid ones BB uses.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 04:22 AM   #37
Nothing371 Nothing371 is offline
Blu-ray Samurai
 
Nothing371's Avatar
 
Jul 2015
Minneapolis
138
452
3
Default

I'm all about the mummy wraps and the cardboard raviolis

They beat the hell outta bubble mailers and spacious, empty boxes.
  Reply With Quote
Thanks given by:
neoz (04-17-2019)
Old 04-17-2019, 07:57 AM   #38
slerch666 slerch666 is offline
Active Member
 
slerch666's Avatar
 
Oct 2016
31
1408
1379
Default

You can easily email Shawn Kleckner. I have done it a few times and have gotten responses. He listens though I can't say things always change because you don't like something.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 08:34 AM   #39
slerch666 slerch666 is offline
Active Member
 
slerch666's Avatar
 
Oct 2016
31
1408
1379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouki View Post
You are absolutely fine, unless you need to modify or (may the Lord of Light help you) return/exchange something.
With Rightstuf you have issues with returns and exchanges?

I've NEVER had an issue with that, at all. Just mail it back, get the credit, done. I've also had them take things back a few days later than they were supposed to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 06:00 PM   #40
Gouki Gouki is offline
Special Member
 
Gouki's Avatar
 
Apr 2010
5
Default

Well, here is the Lord Marksman and Vanadis Saga, edited to protect the identities of those involved.

Original case message

Hi there, I have been shipped a misprint for Lord Marksman and Vanadis Collector's Edition. It is missing the back information sheet. Usually this wouldn't be an issue, but I always just cut a part of the shrinkwrap open to expose the cases, leaving the rest of the package intact. Do you have any correct copies in stock that I can exchange this for?

Thanks!

-XXXXX

For reference here is the set I was shipped, along with what a correct copy should look like:

https://imgur.com/F5UvMFD

https://imgur.com/mlBa1v6

https://imgur.com/M4OlZn6

(Reply)

Hello XXXXX,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention! I will be looking in to this to see what our availability of this item is. If we do have any copies with the info sheet on the back would you want a new art box or to exchange the entire item out?

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

(Reply)

Hi XXXXXX, thank you very much for the reply! All I really need is that info sheet that they shrinkwrap to the backside of the box. (I think the purpose is to replicate the slipcover of the normal release, so when you open it up and throw away said sheet so you have a whole art box with the characters on it. But I'm old, weird, and set in my ways. I can probably surgically add it to the one I have.)
If you do indeed have one, please send me the sheet in between two pieces of cardboard, since the gorillas at the post office have been angered by seeing my name.

(Some pics attached for your enjoyment from the nostalgia file
Thanks!
-XXXXX

(Reply)

Hello again!
I have checked in to this matter and we unfortunately do not have any extra of the info sheets for the back available.  We would be more than happy to make a photo copy of one for you so you could have it for your keeping!  If that is something you would be interested in please let me know!

P.S. WOW!! :-(  To the photo you have just attached 

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

(lol, Wat?)

Hi there, so does that mean you have a copy I can exchange this one for? (If you have one to make a photo copy of, or I'm confused.)

Thanks!

-XXXXX

(Reply)

Hi XXXXX, sorry for the confusion!

We don't have any extra paper copies we send out.  We would have the ability to make a photo copy however we cannot open up and damage out an intact shrink wrapped set for the info sheet.  Let me know if you would like us to photo copy this or if you have any additional questions!

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

(I'm so confused... At this point I'm pretty upset that it's taken 7 messages to get exactly nowhere with this, and the run around I've been given. Did I go too far? Perhaps Maybe this could have been solved earlier? Perhaps.)

Hi, so I'm kind of frustrated that this is taking now 7 messages to figure out, but here is the gist:

1. I got shipped a boxset that is missing the info sheet shrink wrapped inside. I sent a message asking if there are any correct copies in stock to exchange with.

2. the reply I receive is: "If we do have any copies with the info sheet on the back would you want a new art box or to exchange the entire item out?"

So if there are any more in stock, do I want an art box or an exchange. I don't really need another art box, just the info sheet. I explain this in the next message.

3. I get back : "I have checked in to this matter and we unfortunately do not have any extra of the info sheets for the back available.  We would be more than happy to make a photo copy of one for you so you could have it for your keeping!"

A photocopy? No thank you. I send back a message asking if there are any correct copies that I can exchange this for.

4. I then get back:"We don't have any extra paper copies we send out.  We would have the ability to make a photo copy however we cannot open up and damage out an intact shrink wrapped set for the info sheet. "

So first I'm told that I can get an artbox sent to me, then a photocopy, then none of the sacred correct shrink wrapped copies can be damaged to get the info sheet.

So once again, with feeling, do you have any correct copies that I can exchange this for? It sounds like you have a bunch of art boxes, photocopies, and intact shrink wrapped copies, but I'm told something different with each response. I would think this sort of thing would be caught before shipping.

I just want a correct copy, so please let me know how we can accomplish this apparently monumental feat.

Thank you!

-XXXXX

(Reply)

Hello XXXXX,

I apologize for any frustration! I have reached out to management and they have authorized an exchange for you for this item.  

Please send your items to:

Right Stuf
ATTN: RETURNS
512 NE Main St
Grimes, IA 50111


Inside of your package please include your first and last name, original order number and your return authorization number 5710.  Your RA number will expire in 30 days from today's date. Upon arrival of your package we will process your exchange.  Let me know if you have any additional questions, I apologize again for any frustration!

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

(So I get to pay for shipping.)

Hi, just so I'm clear, I'm on the hook for the return shipping for this? I looked on my ups account and it looks like $13.00 to ship it insured via ground. I could see paying the return shipping if I had changed my mind or some other reason within my control, but this is a factory defect that in all honesty should have been caught at either the manufacturer or your shipping department.

I want to apologize if I came off a bit offensive with some of my messages. I am frustrated over the run around over this, and the after effects of my previous support inquiry for the Monogatari series on blu ray, in which I was told all in stock sets did not have the information belts on them, as those were first print runs only. I went and paid ebay prices for the larger boxs sets, then ordered the remainder from you and got shipped first prints that I was told beforehand were not in stock. So I have a rather strong feeling that you probably have the larger box sets with the information belts, and I paid an extra $120.00 due to being misinformed.

Thanks,
-XXXXX

(Oh, boy this is where it gets extra stupid. I already sent huge pictures of this set, shrink wrapped in all it's glory, and the other picture from ebay is also, sigh, shrink wrapped...)

Hello I'm would like to apologize again for any frustration you have had with this case and any in the past!  We are more than happy to help make you satisfied with your purchase. 

We unfortunately cannot cover shipping back to us as we are already making an exception to our return policy by accepting an item for an exchange that is no longer shrink wrapped.  We will cover the shipping of the new item out to you!  I hope I was able to clarify this for you, please let me know if there is any other way I can help!

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care



(Okay, at this point I have kinda lost it.)

Hi XXXXXX, please take a look at my pictures again:

https://imgur.com/F5UvMFD

https://imgur.com/mlBa1v6


As you can see, I have not opened it, and the shrink wrap is completely intact. Please note that these are

The
Exact
Same

Pictures
I included with my original email. This is still new, never opened, still sealed, etc.

Now, if you tell me that you did not read my entire first email and did not look at my pictures, I would accept that. But giving me the run around under the assumption that I went and opened this up and am requesting to make an exception to your return policy just hurts my feelings.

I have been working in customer service for over 22 years, and I have never had this much difficulty with a transaction. If you cannot resolve this, please escalate this with someone who will take the time to completely read my first email and take a look at my pictures.

On the forums you guys have a reputation for legendary customer service, with many members singing your praises for years, and here I am, mouth agape, that you believe I have opened this product and am attempting to abuse your return policy.

I can take new pictures, make a video, or produce a signed affidavit, anything you need to believe that this product is still sealed.
Thank you,
-XXXXX

(This should do it, right? LOL.)

Hello XXXXX!

In your first correspondence we do see that you have sent three images. In two of those it is clearly shrink wrapped like you said. However, the back of the product appears to no longer be shrink wrapped it is probably just hard to see. If you could please just take a picture from a better angle of that.  If you could please send us an image of the back and the side at an angle for us to be able to see the shrink wrapping with the missing info sheet we would be more than happy to send you a pre-paid shipping label for standard shipping through USPS. If not, we just have to go by our policy that we are unable to offer a prepaid label if the product has been opened as we are unable to be sure it was sent to you without the item. Since it is still wrapped just send the new picture, and should be able to get you all taken care of. I apologize again for any frustration you are having, we typically do not cover shipping for manufacturer's defects or opened products.

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

(Just kill me.)

Hi XXXXXX, here are some more pictures from different angles:

(They just say Imgur the greatest pictures ever or something, so here is what I sent)

















(Ebay pic)



-XXXXX

(Reply)


Thank you for the new images XXXXX! You should be expecting a return shipping label in your email, it will expire within 7 days. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance!

XXXXXX
Right Stuf Customer Care

In total 16 messages. For a defective exchange.

And, so far it's been two days since I requested a return for the identical orders they combined to ship, because it was too far along the order process to modify.

So far.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Blu-ray Forum > Movies > Anime


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 PM.